>Dinner-Southern style

>

I am proud to say that I am a southern girl. Born and raised. This includes manners (yes ma’am and no sirs), family, and, one of my favorites, food. Think biscuits and gravy, collard greens, fried chicken, catfish…mm-mm. Good eats to say the least. Now in my rearing, I learned to cook from my momma (who is a darn good cook if I do say so myself). She taught me to bake delicious pound cakes, hearty meatloaf, and her specialty-potato salad. With that in mind, I made a true southern specialty for dinner last night. The menu consisted of Country fried steak with pan gravy, mashed potatoes, and collard greens. All served with a glass of milk to finish it off. Now, I know that southern cooking isn’t what one would call healthy…but every once in a while I think it’s necessary. In our home of just my husband and I, I have taken on all of the cooking (excluding his spaghetti which is his specialty). I love to cook so this isn’t a complaint, merely a statement. Last night was no different. I had the steak fried and gravy made. I decided to cheat on the mashed potatoes (I am ashamed to say) because I don’t have a mixer and mashing potatoes is a lot of work by hand. So I took a short cut and bought store ready mashed potatoes. Then all that was left was to wilt the collards and saute them up with some onions and bacon. At this point, I wanted to take advantage of most everything being done and run through the shower. So, I handed over the wilting and sauteing to my husband Kyle. Now, I say this as a precursor, Kyle is a good cook. He can handle himself in the kitchen and I am typically not worried about anything. Well, he decided last night to about cut off his finger while dicing the onion. I hear him yell something so I holler back if everything was OK. Next thing I know he’s coming in asking if we have any band-aids. Oh me. Well, he got the bleeding stopped, luckily without getting anything on the food as well, and I finished the greens. I have to laugh only because it is just one of those things. But needless to say, we enjoyed our southern style dinner to the fullest and I look forward to cooking up some biscuits to serve with some of the left over gravy. Mm-mm.
Leave a Reply

