>Recipe Friday–Chinese at Home!

>

I am very excited to put down my first (of hopefully many) recipes! Because I am still working on my “grown-up french onion mac” I am going to refer to a recipe that I made the other night with a technique I had never done before. No it’s not revolutionary but it is something I had heard done by several chefs but never tried myself. That is broiling my steaks. I have a fear of the broiler. The usual result is the fire alarm going off for about 5 minutes anytime I use it so I tend to steer clear if at all possible. But I was always intrigued by people who said the cook their steak with the broiler. And when this recipe called for it, I had to give it a try. The recipe is for teriyaki steak with rice noodles from Pillsbury’s Fast and Healthy Cookbook (and older one…actually the first cookbook ever given to me–by mom of course). This is a fast and easy way to have Chinese at home in a way that you aren’t regretting later.
Ingredients: 6 oz. Rice noodles (can be found in the Asian section of your local grocery store) 1/4 c soy sauce 2 Tablespoons (Tbsp) brown sugar 2 Tbsp rice vinegar (or cider vinegar–they have very similar flavors) 1/4 tsp dry mustard 2 garlic cloves, minced 3/4 lbs lean beef sirloin or eye of round steak 2 green onions, cut at an angle into 1 in pieces

Bring water in a pot to a boil for your rice noodles. Cook according to package. This was my first time using these, but I found that I had to cook them slightly longer than what the package told me (I measured done-ness by taste and texture). Meanwhile, combine the next 5 ingredients in a 1 gallon plastic bag (or dish that the steaks will fit in completely covered) and mix well. Add steaks and marinate for 10 minutes at room temperature, flipping them once to cover both sides. Preheat your broiler. Once marinated, place steaks in a pan and broil them about 6 minutes, flipping half way through or until desired done-ness. BUT WAIT!!! SAVE THE LEFTOVER MARINADE!!!! Pour the marinade into a small pot while the meat is cooking and heat through (a low simmer). Once heated through, pour over drained noodles. Cut meat into 1 in thick, small pieces. Plate over noodles and top with slices green onions. It is a light and hearty meal that fills you up! I served with a broccoli slaw mix, topped with crunchy lo mein pieces (also found in the Asian section of most grocery stores) and dressed with a Sesame Ginger dressing (we found a decently cheap one made by Kraft but there is a better tasting one that is usually in the produce section by the stir-fry mixes). Here is the finished product (and I am happy to say…we had NO leftovers!) I will definitely be making this again πŸ™‚Yum!

Leave a Reply

