>The Dash of No Regrets

>

This morning’s devotions were focused on “living in the dash.” This phrasing is not new to me but reminded me of the importance of living for this day. Several years ago, my pastor gave a sermon on this exact topic. If you are unfamiliar with it, the “dash” is referring to the line between your birth and death on a tombstone. That single line represents your life. Every success, every failure, all the joy and all the pain; it is all contained in a single line upon your death. So what, right? What is the big deal? The point is how you live your life. America has become filled with a multitude of work-a-holics. Students are forced to fill every ounce of their time with school, sports, music, and other extracurricular activities in hopes of college acceptance. People are choosing to put work as their number one priority rather than family, friends, even God. But when the “dash” is over, and there is a date marking our closing chapter, are people going to remember your life for how you lived or are they going remember you just never having the time?

 

I have always said that God will be my number one, and family my number two. Work is somewhere else down the line, but not at the top, even despite loving my job. The reality is, if I am not there, the office will still move forward, business will still get done. If I am not there for my family and friends, I will miss some of the most precious moments that can never be recreated again. Even Jesus said, “Come to me all you who are weary and burdened and I will give you rest.” (Matthew 11:28) God rested on the seventh day of creation (Genesis 2:1-3). And unlike the priests of the Old Testament whose work was never done, the New Testament shows Jesus sitting at the right hand of God indicating Him resting because the work is done (Luke 22:69, Ephesians 1:20, Colossians 3:1). We are created to live, glorifying God and enjoying all of His blessings. So many are too focused on reaching “financial stability” or the “next big promotion” or whatever else comes by. Too few are enjoying life, using their vacation time to experience the majesty of out Creator or the fellowship with one another. This is not to say that we should goof off, use all of our time not getting any work done. It is simply to cause you to think about your priorities and what point you want to be at the end of your dash. My prayer is that I can say that I lived to the greatest ability, I worked for the Kingdom, and I loved deeply—having no regrets as I move into eternity with my Father.

 

Live you dash to the fullest—with no regrets.

Leave a Reply

