>Forgotten God

>I’m currently reading Francis Chan’s newest book, “Forgotten God.” The challenge I am finding is that, while reading, I am purposely slowing down and reading in fragments the try and wrap my head around it all. It is not “difficult” information but I am still having a difficult time with it.
Holy Spirit has always been a mystery. In fact, we’re told in Deuteronomy 29:29, “The secret things belong to the Lord our God, but the things revealed belong to us and to our children forever, that we may follow all the words of this law.” The truth is there will always be things that we can not understand no matter how hard we study, search, and seek. But in that same truth, that is a blessing! Who would want to waste time worshiping a God that you completely understood? There would be no reason to worship in the first place!
My challenge is not in accepting the fact that Holy Spirit is mysterious (it’s hard not to be mysterious when you are as much an individual as a part of a complete Trinity). It’s not even in understanding his purpose. Even when I was younger, I knew the Holy Spirit as the intercessor, petitioning to God on my behalf. I knew that Jesus told the disciples that it was better that he leave so that Holy Spirit could come. And when he came, he gave each person a gift to serve God, which he still does every time someone asks Jesus into their heart. I think what I am finding difficult is the conviction of my use of His gift.
Matthew 5:16 says, “In the same way, let your light shine before others, so that they may see your good works and give glory to your Father who is in heaven.” (emphasis added) I believe that is natural (good) to want to receive recognition and edification from others. Receiving acknowledgment allows us to know that we are appreciated and that the works we are doing aren’t null and void. HOWEVER, the gifts of the Spirit are for God’s glory. If I am writing to a crowd, using the gift of prophesy, then I should not want people to look at me, but rather Christ. The purpose of the gifts of the Spirit are for the edification of the Church (1 Cor 14:12)
So my question to myself (and to you) is, are you seeking to point others to yourself or to the Cross of Jesus Christ? Are your actions bringing people into closer relationship with God or focusing them further on the things of this world? Do you see your purpose for the Church?
I’ll leave you with a question from Francis Chan that struck me more than I thought it would. “Ask yourself, Do I believe the church needs me like a body needs a mouth?” (pp 91, Forgotten God).

Leave a Reply

