>Pursuing Our Creator Uninhibited

>

I’m currently reading A.W. Tozer’s Pursuit of God. When picking out something to read, I was looking for a piece that would challenge me. I wanted to read something that caused me to think beyond myself and push my understandings. Tozer is good for that. The entire premise of the book is to challenge the religiosity that we have accepted as “norm” and continue to seek after our Creator because, quite simply, that is what we were created to do.

I find it interesting when people who claim to be Christians (myself not excluded) take the gifts that we have been given by our Creator and they begin to take the place of our Creator. Like I said, I am as guilty as anyone on this front, especially with gifts like family and friends. Tozer puts it like this:

We are often hindered from giving up our treasures to the Lord out of fear for their safety; this is especially true when those treasures are loved relatives and friends. But we need have no such fears. Our Lord came not to destroy but to save. Everything is safe which we commit to Him, and nothing is really safe which is not so committed.

Christian teachings tell us that Jesus told his disciples, “If anyone would come after me, he must deny himself and take up his cross daily and follow me.

Leave a Reply

