God’s Will-Part 2

1. God is a God of knowledge.  He knows everything.

I am inspired when I speak with people that I deem smarter and wiser than myself.  I can grasp only pieces to their information and can take those pieces and twist and turn as one might a rubrics cube.  Unlike a rubrics cube that has a solution, wisdom and knowledge is a constant journey, much like perfection.  I can never achieve perfect knowledge or wisdom.  I will never have all of the answers.  But in His divine perfection, God is a God of knowledge.

I can trust God’s direction for me because he already knows everything.  There is a term that can sometimes baffle people, omniscient.  It is defined as “having complete or unlimited knowledge, awareness, or understanding; perceiving all things.”  God is in fact, omniscient.  He has existed before time began and he already exists into the eternal unknown of the future.

A beautiful picture of this is found in 1 Samuel.  A woman named Hannah who was barren.  In her culture, women who were barren were often disdained and thought to have some sin in their lives that was keeping them from conceiving a child.  But through prayer and dedication to God, Hannah found herself blessed with a child.  In her prayers she had promised that her child would be dedication to ministry, so upon the birth of her son, Samuel, she brought him to the temple to be dedicated.  In her prayer of thanksgiving, Hannah cries out to God that, “the Lord is a God who knows and him all deeds are weighed.” (1 Samuel 2:3b)

Hannah understood that God’s knowledge was so far beyond her own.  She understood that His plans were divine and perfect and in that she trusted Him to provide for her.  And he did through her son, Samuel who became a great prophet.

This can translate to our own lives by a life of faith.  I don’t know what tomorrow will hold (according to some, the end of the world is tonight so I don’t need to worry about it–not that I believe that but amusing), but I do know that God has plans for my life.  I know that I have been called to be a devoted wife to my husband and a loving mother to my daughter.  I also know that God has called me to work with teenagers.  What capacity that work includes is still being revealed to me, but I trust that God knows.  He knows my heart, my dreams, and desires.  The more I seek after Him, the more my thoughts and dreams line up with His.  In this I can be assured that God “grant me the desires of my heart” when my heart is in line with His.

I am so thankful that I have an all knowing God in whom I can put my trust.

Leave a Reply

