Mediocrity is No Longer Welcome.

Mediocrity.  It is a plague that has infiltrated much of the modern world.  We accept a “c” student mentality from our children, our youth, even from adults in our lives (employees, volunteers, ect.)  Rather than challenging the norm, we continue to do just enough to get by in this world.

The saddest part is that we have allowed this plague to infect our faith as well.  No longer do we expect our young adults to be responsible for their actions.  No longer do we hold our clergy accountable for the choices that they make.  We accept half-hearted-ness when Jesus has already told us that the “lukewarm” will be spit out from his mouth.  We can’t just walk the fence on issues and expect God to grant us favor.  It is no wonder that the American church has become so entangled in society that you barely see a difference between the Christian and the unbeliever.  Rather than standing up for those differences that God has put in place we issues mottos that include, “open hearts, open minds, open doors.”  While the church itself may hold certain beliefs, why on earth would we ever “force” them on someone?  Shouldn’t we all be able to believe whatever we want and “just get along?”  (Coexist, right?)

Wrong.  The Bible tells us that we should LOVE everyone.  Unconditional, indescribable love to people that don’t deserve it (that includes us as well).  But loving everyone does not mean abandoning our faith and the distinctiveness that goes along with that faith.  We aren’t supposed to blend in.  If anything we are clearly instructed to stand out!

Jesus said,” You are the light of the world. A city on a hill cannot be hidden.  Neither do people light a lamp and put it under a bowl. Instead they put it on its stand, and it gives light to everyone in the house.  In the same way, let your light shine before men, that they may see your good deeds and praise your Father in heaven.” (Matthew 5:14-16)

In the same way that Jesus compared the disciples to a lamp (you don’t put it under a bowl, you put it on a stand), we are to be a light to others around us.  We are to stand out and stand strong for the convictions that God has given us.

I don’t want to blend in, I want to be different.  I want to be the one in the room that doesn’t cuss because God has called me to not use profanity.  I want to be the one in the group that has never cheated on my husband, because God has called me to love one man and to remain faithful to him until death parts us.

I am different, maybe even strange, but I am that way because I refuse to accept mediocrity.

I refuse to do just enough.

I stand for Jesus.

Where do you stand?

One thought on “Mediocrity is No Longer Welcome.

  1. I agree so much. I am saddened by the ‘coexist’, ‘peace’ and other bumper stickers that I see using various religious symbols. It makes them just that… symbols.

    I will always strive to coexist peacefully with my fellow man. I WILL NOT set aside my beliefs though that there is only one way to heaven and that is through Jesus Christ! I will continue to love EVERYONE with the love that Christ has placed in my heart and will urge those that I meet to seek Him.

Leave a Reply

