The Grouch, God, and Grace

Without God, I am pretty sure that I would be a grumpy and miserable person.  Why would I make such an unpleasant prediction about myself?  Mainly because I know me pretty well and there are some days that this is exactly the person that peeks their head out.  Today is one of those days.  It’s a day where people just flat out annoy me (guess it’s a good thing I’m home all day with only a 21 month old and a dog to hear me).  It’s also one of those days that I realize just how much grace and mercy God extends to me each moment of every day.

You see, I have been harboring hurt feelings toward a friend of mine.  She doesn’t know it mainly because I feel as though I’m being petty, but I’m still succumbing to the feelings that I haven’t given up to God yet.  What happened?  I feel ignored and unimportant in her life.  Now, understand that there is plenty going on in her life that should take priority above me, but it’s still hard to get by with not hearing from someone you love for over a week (especially when you have seen them…just from a distance and not gotten a chance to talk with them).

It was in the midst of my pity party that I realized that God deals with this from me all the time.  Like many believers with smart phones, I have a Bible app loaded on my phone for convenience (we are so spoiled).  Within that app, I have a reading plan set up so I don’t even have to think about where I need to pick up for my quiet times.  While I do read randomly or pick specific sections of scripture according to needs and situations, this gives me a basis for those days when I feel uninspired and know that I just need to read something to get my head focused on God rather than myself.  So, my current reading plan is going through the Bible in a year.  It’s something I’ve done before but find beneficial to repeat since I have my favorite books that I tend to re-read the most (Philippians is at the top of that list) and others that I tend to ignore (Leviticus for example…and I unintentionally forget about some of the small prophets).  All of this to say that I really have no excuse to not be in the word each and every day.  The plan is even set up so that it really only takes 10-15 minutes to read through the selected passages.  I have no excuse, but the same time that I’m feeling hurt because I have a friend who hasn’t called me back in over a week and I’m beginning to have days of pure, unadulterated grouchiness is the same time that I have neglected to spend any time in the Bible.  Even my prayers are limited and uninspired, focusing on saying thanks for what I’ve got, here’s what I would like/need and not taking the time to in turn listen to what God may be saying back to me.  I have just done to God the same thing that hurt my feelings.

Anyone that follows me on Facebook probably saw my status this morning:

I really need to remember to start my day with God before facebook. Without God, people annoy me way too much.

And that’s exactly what I need to remember.  Keep God as my priority and dealing with people becomes a little easier (not always but better than if I’m trying to do it on my own!).  So whether I get my feelings hurt or I just wake up on the wrong side of the bed, God’s grace abounds.

Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of compassion and the God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our troubles, so that we can comfort those in any trouble with the comfort we ourselves receive from God. For just as we share abundantly in the sufferings of Christ, so also our comfort abounds through Christ. If we are distressed, it is for your comfort and salvation; if we are comforted, it is for your comfort, which produces in you patient endurance of the same sufferings we suffer.

~2 Corinthians 1:3-6

2 thoughts on “The Grouch, God, and Grace

Leave a Reply

