Seasonal Purpose

I have found that there are certain verses that everyone seems to be familiar with whether or not the read or even believe the Bible.  For example, “an eye for an eye,” or “judge not, lest you be judged,” or “do unto others as you would have done unto you” (sorry, certain verses I learned in New King James version so that’s how I quote them).  Some of these are found in other common proverbs, thus are occasionally misused (the three I just listed are among those commonly quoted outside of context).

There are of course others that aren’t quite so…condemning.  John 3:16 for example:

For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.

(that’s another one that I learned in the NKJ version but figured it isn’t a whole lot different than the NIV, minus a “begotten”).

Another one is Ecclesiastes 3.

There is a time for everything,

and a season for every activity under the heavens:
a time to be born and a time to die,
a time to plant and a time to uproot,
a time to kill and a time to heal,
a time to tear down and a time to build,
a time to weep and a time to laugh,
a time to mourn and a time to dance,
a time to scatter stones and a time to gather them,
a time to embrace and a time to refrain from embracing,
a time to search and a time to give up,
a time to keep and a time to throw away,
a time to tear and a time to mend,
a time to be silent and a time to speak,
a time to love and a time to hate,
a time for war and a time for peace.
I am probably a 1/3 of the way through writing a book on discovering your purpose and what I am finding in this journey is that just as your purpose may not be a what but a who, you can have a multitude of God given purposes in your lifetime.  “For everything there is a season…a time to plant and a time to uproot.”
For the past 4 years I have been a youth leader with my church.  I have watched some of these students evolve from gawky middle schoolers, awkward at best in their faith, to young ladies who are confident in what they believe and maturing more and more each day.  Two years ago I stepped up in my role and became Girl’s Ministry Coordinator.
We had seen our guys grow and develop but our girls were stagnant.  My job was to develop our leaders to engage with the girls better, find opportunities for them to develop relationships, and to help that stagnant group start to grow.  I feel as though I have been successful in that, and through a lot of prayer I have decided to step down from my role.

I would like to believe that God has used me to plant seeds of His truth into the lives of the young ladies I have worked with but now, it is time for me to uproot myself to allow room for the newer leaders to take over the responsibility (which many already have done).  My heart breaks because I have loved working with the youth and love these students dearly, but I know that I am no longer able to give them my priority, that now belongs to my two daughters.
The work of girl’s coordinator is in many ways my “dream job” and maybe there will be an opportunity for me to serve in that type of position full time in the future.  I hope that the students will continue to be comfortable talking to me and sharing their lives with me, even if it’s only saying hi at church on Sunday mornings.  They will remain a large part of my prayers, always, as they have been such a large part of my life over the past four years.  So for that I say thank you to all of you who have allowed me to be a part of this ministry and a part of your life and/or your student’s life.
2 thoughts on “Seasonal Purpose

Leave a Reply

