Distractions {Romania Devotional 2}

Life has become a little distracting from itself.  Here’s what I mean.  We have created an environment where texting one person while talking face to face with someone else is considered normal.  We sit on our laptops or tablets while also watching t.v.  We talk on the phone while “playing” with the kids.

I realize that I’m not that old, but I do remember life before cell phones and the internet.  What I remember is being able to read a book in the quiet and not feel like there has to be noise coming from somewhere.  I remember playing games with my family and no one was doing something else.  We were invested in that moment.

I was once told that Satan uses God’s blessings to distract us from the one who gave them to us in the first place.

The past couple weeks, even my own kiddos have become a distraction.  They aren’t doing anything wrong, but I’m allowing the general responsibilities of taking care of a family to trump my quiet time and creates a situation where it is almost natural to put my kids above God.

Preparing for my week in Romania, I want to check my heart of those distractions.  Even the good things can be a hindrance.  The story of Martha and Mary is the perfect example.

As Jesus and the disciples continued on their way to Jerusalem, they came to a certain village where a woman named Martha welcomed him into her home. Her sister, Mary, sat at the Lord’s feet, listening to what he taught. But Martha was distracted by the big dinner she was preparing. She came to Jesus and said, “Lord, doesn’t it seem unfair to you that my sister just sits here while I do all the work? Tell her to come and help me.”

But the Lord said to her, “My dear Martha, you are worried and upset over all these details!There is only one thing worth being concerned about. Mary has discovered it, and it will not be taken away from her.” (Luke 10:38-41, NLT)
Martha wasn’t doing something wrong, or bad. She just wasn’t doing what was best.
 
So what can we do?  When I come home, I will still need to take care of my home.  Care for my children.  What can be done to keep the distractions from interfering with Jesus?
I find that worry often accompanies distractions.  Am I doing enough?  Am I messing it all  up?
 
Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus. (Philippians 4:6-7, NIV<– this is my life verse on a side note)
1. What things (good or bad) are distracting you from hearing God in this moment?
2. How can you use God’s peace to better serve him while in Romania?
3. How can you continue to live a life bathed in that peace of God?  What will being still in God do for your testimony at home?
 
“Be still, and know that I am God.

I will be exalted among the nations,
I will be exalted in the earth!” (Psalm 46:10)
 
Praying that the hearts of our team will be quieted that we can hear you speak, o God.  May we not seek you in the fire or the earthquake, but that we will allow you to quiet our souls and quiet the distractions that we can hear you in the gentle whisper of the wind. Jesus, shower us in your peace that surpasses all understanding.  Let us seek to sit at your feet even when there is much to do.  Honor our devotion and allow our testimony to change the hearts of those around us. ~Amen.
One thought on “Distractions {Romania Devotional 2}

Leave a Reply

